Chairperson: Mr John Twomey

Directors Dr Eimear Smith, Mr Keith Mangan, Mr James McCarthy, Mr Herman Wilmink, Mr Donal O’Flynn, Mr Brian Dempsey, Ms Emma Cahill

Company Secretary: Ms Louise Moore

Patrons: Ms Diane Davison, Mr Felix Jones, Mr Mark Governey

According to the World Health Organisation a spinal cord injury (SCI) is one of the most devastating and life changing injuries that a person can sustain. However, following medical and rehabilitation intervention, and with the relevant support, a SCI is not only survivable but an individual can continue to lead the life that they had envisaged prior to injury.

Spinal Injuries Ireland (SII) is the only support and service agency in Ireland for people who have sustained a spinal cord injury and their families. We provide a person centred service to assist people to engage fully in society.

Mission

SII’s mission is to engage with people with a spinal cord injury and their family members, to address barriers to full participation in society and to empower members to work towards achieving personal, social and vocational goals.

Vision

Provide on-going personalised support services for people with a spinal cord injury and their families empowering them to live an independent and fulfilling life at home- for as long as they need us.

Our Values

Informed

We know how to help

Compassionate

We deliver this with empathy and understanding

Reliable

We follow through every time

Empowering

We give hope and inspiration

Our Team

Fiona Bolger

CEO

fiona@spinalinjuries.ie

Mary Dunne

Operations Manager

mary.dunne@spinalinjuries.ie

Eric O'Connor

Finance Manager

eric@spinalinjuries.ie

Naomi Fitzgibbon

Head of Services

naomi@spinalinjuries.ie

David Fitzgerald

Community Outreach Officer

david@spinalinjuries.ie

Sorcha Silke

Community Outreach Officer

sorcha@spinalinjuries.ie

Philippa O'Leary

Community Outreach Officer

Philippa@spinalinjuries.ie

Eimear Ryan

Community Outreach Officer

eimear@spinalinjuries.ie

Hilary Keppel

Community Outreach Officer

hilary@spinalinjuries.ie

Emily McIlveen

Community Outreach Officer

emily@spinalinjuries.ie

Brian Lawlor

Peer Support Co-Ordinator

brian@spinalinjuries.ie

Phil O'Kelly

Head of Fundraising

phil@spinalinjuries.ie

Sharon Dagg

Corporate and Philanthropic Fundraiser

sharon@spinalinjuries.ie

Philip Quinlan

Q Ball, Cork Jazz Ball & Spring Lunch Co-ordinator

philip@spinalinjuries.ie

Lucy Grant

Communications & Fundraising Officer

lucy@spinalinjuries.ie

Robert Kenny

Support Centre Co-Ordinator

Robert@spinalinjuries.ie

Rita Mahony

Administration Volunteer

info@spinalinjuries.ie

Alison Byrne

Fundraising & Admin Assistant

info@spinalinjuries.ie

Governance

Founded in 1994, Spinal Injuries Ireland (SII) is a registered charity supporting people who sustain a spinal cord injury and their families. We are a company limited by guarantee with a non-executive Board of Directors who are appointed in accordance with the organisation’s Constitution.

Directors are appointed to the Board either at an Annual General Meeting or through co-option by the Board.  The Board of Directors are all volunteers representing a combination of service users, business, and professional individuals. They work to ensure the organisation delivers on its strategic goals, upholding the mission and values of the organisation, remains solvent and complies with the Charities Regulator Governance Code.

The CEO and Senior Management Team are responsible for the day to day running of the orgnaisation.

Accountability & Transparency

Public support is very important to us and we are committed to delivering a quality service and providing a high level of accountability and transparency into how we run our organisation and about how we spend donations.

We are open and transparent in our financial reporting and adhere to all applicable legislation such as Companies Act,  Charities Act and SORP (Statement of Recommended Practice) for accounting and reporting practice.  Our Annual Report and financial statements are published annually.

We achieved compliance with the voluntary Governance Code – a code of Practice for Good Governance of Community, Voluntary and Charitable Organisations in Ireland in 2018.

We currently comply with the Charities Regulator Governance Code which replaced the voluntary Code in 2019 and also adhere to codes of practice such as the Guidelines for Charitable Organisations on Fundraising from the Public.

Charities Institute Triple Locked Member

We are a Charities Institute 2020 Triple Locked Member which demonstrates our commitment to best practice in all aspects of transparent reporting, ethical fundraising and good governance.

Ethical Fundraising

We are committed to upholding the Guidelines for Charitable Organisations on Fundraising from the Public and our Board of Directors have passed Trustee Resolution regarding the Guidelines for Charitable Organisations on Fundraising from the Public along with a Donor Charter.

Privacy & Data Protection

We have technical measures in place to protect our service users, donors and supporters data.   Our Privacy & Data Protection Policies outline our commitment to protecting your data.

Dealing with Feedback and Complaints

We are committed to delivering a quality service and being open and transparaent in all our dealing with service users, donors and supporters.   However if you are dissatisified with any aspects of our services or fundraising campaigns you can you provide feedback either positive or negative or raise a complaint.  The procedures for making a complaint are outlined in Feedback and Compliants Procedure for Service Users and Handling Feedback and Compliants procedures for Donors.

 

We'd love to hear from you to see how we can help